I want to be different…just like everybody else.

I started this thinking about the ways in which I want our wedding to be different, visually spectacular but cost effective.

But then I read this on marriage success rates via wedding for two.
It bothers me a little that statistics have the ability to unnerve me, and the way it makes me feel knowing that someone has made a checklist that earmarks my relationship for a high probability of failure. It bothers me because I’ve worked closely with statistics, and maybe not in studies but in the field I worked in I know many stats were subject to creative accounting. It also makes me wonder how accurate the reporting is, as obviously it’s a condensed version of the study. This for example
‘.. a husband who is nine or more years older than his wife is twice as likely to get divorced, as are husbands who get married before they turn 25.’
Did the study measure age gap relationships where the wife is older? Did this make a difference? What were the ages of the couples this affected? And is this something relevant to the younger generations that are currently getting married?
Statistics have so many variables and studies like this can take away from what the real focus should be in creating a successful relationship, honest communication.

I want us to be different, which is why from our second date on we talked about the big things and the little things, what we do and don’t want. It’s why we say I love you every day more than once and never begrudgingly. We actually have plans in place for if one of us is working long hours, a sex life plan and a parenting plan, we’re also working on the pre-nup in the hope that we will never need it. Sure we’re in the early ‘honeymoon’ phase of our relationship, but I plan on being one of those lucky pairs who find time to keep that alive.

The full study can be found here it answered most of my questions and then gave me a whole new set.