Making your own cake, it’s kind of a dumb idea if you can’t deal with spiking stress levels.  That said it was an incredibly rewarding and massively cost saving experience.

The biggest issue I had was the icing, i’ve mentioned it enough not to go on about it anymore… Except to let you in in the secret that saved my sanity and ultimately I wish I had have given in to earlier but I was being a snob.

In the end my cake was crumb coated and filled between the layers with the lemon meringue buttercream I had made the night before.  The outer layer however was a big fat shortcut, I used Betty Crocker pre-made icing and added Wiltons White White and a little lemon to it.  Now I have no shame using pre-made icing on birthday cakes or cupcakes but for some reason my inner snob was not coming to the party in using it on wedding cake, my inner snob is an idiot.

It works amazingly and although a little sweet the consistency is fantastic and saved us from not having a cake.

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

photography by James Field

We cut the cake and served it to our guests which was something I wanted to do it didn’t quite work out as the chatting with our guests while I got them cake ideal that I envisioned but it worked out fine, these things never quite go how we picture them.

So that’s our cake, I think it was worth the stress, it tasted good too – White Chocolate and Raspberry with Lemon Meringue(ish) icing.

